I feel so old.

Standard

You know what I just did?

I had to tell the teenage neighbor kids that they couldn’t skateboard in our driveway. I had to use phrases like “homeowner’s insurance” and “liability in case of injury.” I acknowledged that these words probably meant nothing to them and that I was sorry.

But does it matter?

I’m the crochety old lady who won’t let them skate, man.

I knew as I said the words that I’d become the sort of square they were going to make fun of as soon as I walked away. And since I had to play my role, I decided to do it well. I decided to give ’em something to really work with when they mocked me later, because honestly? In my heart I’m still on their side.

“And you’re scaring my cat, with all the noise.”

*sigh* You’re welcome, kiddos. Keep fightin’t The Man.

Leave a Reply

