Valentines Day(s).

Standard

I’d planned to surprise my grandmother with a visit on Valentines Day.  She always liked Valentines Day, always sent me cards as a kid, and gave me the crazy idea that Valentines Day was about lovin’ up on everybody you loved.

My plans of course changed when she had a heart attack and had to be hospitalized.  I called a few of my dear friends, Chip and Angelica, and we celebrated in a way that I think will make her proud, laughing over drinks and recounting the various loves we’ve had.

In fact, we had so much fun that they stayed over.  And the next morning we couldn’t bear to leave each other just yet, so Valentines Day bled into next-morning-breakfast, then a drive up the coast in Chip’s new Mercedes.

It may not have been a mad love affair, but it was most certainly love.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

