Signing off from the lobby

Standard

I’ve worked here for six years, and loved it.

When I leave here today, I will be ending my employment with this company.

The company no longer exists as such.  A bank owns us now.  This bank has hired me to stay on here for a week or two, to field phone calls as our assets are sold off.  But I’ll be virtually alone in this building without all the people that made every day a joy to be here.

I keep telling myself that a loss is so often a launch, and I laugh at the truth that this is probably the only way I would ever have left this job.  I’m not so much worried for myself as heartbroken.  Perhaps Most likely better things are waiting but …..

…. I’ve been so happy here.

10 responses »

  1. Hi, I don’t know if you remember me, but we were briefly Coaster friends. I’m making a rare break from lurking to mention that my mom’s office may be hiring in January. It’s a doctor’s office in Hillcrest/Banker’s hill area. They’d like someone to do billing (they’ll train you) and answer phones. I don’t know if in your heart you’ve always dreamed of medical billing (and really, who hasn’t?), but I thought I’d mention it. E-mail me if you want their contact information.

  2. Can I just say that really blows and leave it at that?

    Except to say that I know exactly how you feel.

    And in 14 days I’d prefer never to speak of The Year that We Won’t Talk About, ever again.

Leave a Reply

