We feel pretty.

Standard

I have a sweet little set of positive thought cards, given to me by Rose.  They’re wonderfully illustrated and laminated, and I thought they make make a nice tiled effect in my plain little bathroom.  Sadly the tape I was using refused to stick for more than a minute and a half, and after twenty minutes at the project I badly needed a card that would encourage me in my ability to tack up cards.

Later I was bemoaning that fact to Buckman, as I pealed the remaining tape off and returning them to the box.  I commented that I’d kinda expected him to give me a little shit (“soooooo Californian!”) about them anyway.

He was thumbing through them and he said, “No these are actually pretty nice.”

He paused.  “Well ….”

He held up a card with a drawing of a woman twirling and it read “I’m beautiful and everyone loves me.”

“I think I would HAVE to give you shit for that one.”

I laughed a little and then I said, “Why is it so hard for us to say something nice about ourselves?”

I am a beautiful person, and everyone does love me.

I’m taping that card up on my mirror (if I have to use crazy glue and a clamp) until I can say it without feeling ridiculous.

6 responses »

  1. Darling, it always so easy for us to bemoan and focus on our own shortcomings; we tend to forget the enormous amounts of beauty and heart we possess. Every day that you are around, every day that you take another blog self portrait, every day that you share another “of course it would only happen to you” kind of moment with all of us, you are one day more beautiful and we all love you for it.

  2. I just tape the fortunes from fortune cookies on my bathroom mirror. How can one not feel like things are going to get better reading a slew of those every morning.

Leave a Reply

