I tell myself, it’s like riding a horse.

Standard

I was two the first time I fell off a horse, I got used to it.  Long before I had my own horse, I was around them.  And I think that’s why it never occurred to me to be afraid of them.  I used to watch people who were afraid of them and wonder.  Sure.  They’re big.  I get that.  The idea of controlling them is based purely on confidence, your ability to balance and react quickly.  It’s not so hard, I’m sure they’ve all done far more difficult things in their lives.

I remind myself of that feeling every time life seems like a runaway horse.  I can do this.  I’ve done harder things.

8 responses »

  1. absolutely.

    off the subject while still being on it.
    i rode for 5 years, and one time the horse i was riding fell. we were cantering around the arena and it just slowly tilted until we were on the ground.
    luckily i wasn’t hurt.

    i’m sure there’s a metaphor in there somewhere.

Leave a Reply

