“When was the last time it rained?” a customer asked.

Standard

“Goodness, I’m ….. uh … I’m not sure offhand-” I said.

“Three and a half months,” my boss Jesse interjected. “Almost exactly.”

I was thinking as I walked home tonight, trying to remember back to the last time it rained, and smelling not the rain as much as the way everything smelled of itself when wet. Pavement, dirt, wood houses, my own skin. I was reminded of who I am.

I’m really quite reckless, and that has got me everywhere I wanted to be.

So I picked up the phone.

6 responses »

Leave a Reply

